Whole Wheat pancakes with Fresh Figs Drizzle

My first post in the new virtual space where I express my love for food and everything that comes with it. I am not a person of many words but if you talk food I talk double food!

Offline, I whip up tasty and yummy dishes and serve them to the loves of my life! Weekends especially are family and food time! My daughter and my husband, both love their weekend pancakes! It’s become a tradition of sorts in our house. At least one less meal to worry about 🙂

I love working with new ingredients and would drool over dishes prepared with fresh figs in famous cookery shows. I had to try it. When I tasted fresh figs for the first time, I was kicking myself for not trying it earlier. It’s sweet, soft, nutty and a dessert in itself. In fact, I had to save them from me for the recipe I am about to share with you all.

Figs are an excellent source of minerals and soluble fibre and are a good source of antioxidant vitamins. I have tried to keep them as fresh as possible in the recipe. If figs are not available, you can use any fresh fruit like banana, mango (seasonal), berries or just pour some good old maple syrup and enjoy!

So here goes!

Prep time

8 mins

Cook time

15 mins

Total time

23 mins

A wholesome pancake with the goodness of fresh figs and a nice tang from the orange.

p2-2

Author: Nand

Recipe type: Breakfast

Cuisine: American

Serving Size: Makes 4 pancakes

Ingredients

PANCAKES

  • Whole wheat flour – 3/4 cup
  • Ragi Flour (or whole wheat flour) – 2 tbsp
  • White sugar or brown sugar – 1 tbsp
  • Baking powder – 1/2 tsp
  • Baking soda – 1/8 tsp
  • Pinch of salt
  • Vegetable Oil – 1 tbsp
  • Butter Milk – 3/4 cup
  • Orange juice (or replace with milk) – 1/2 cup
  • Egg – 1

FRESH FIGS DRIZZLE

  • Fresh Figs, quartered – 8
  • Butter – 2 tbsp
  • Honey – 2 tbsp
  • Brown Sugar or normal sugar – 1 tbsp
  • A pinch of salt and a pinch of black pepper

FOR SERVING optional

  • Maple Syrup/Honey

Direction

PANCAKE

  1. Add all the dry ingredients in a bowl – whole wheat flour, ragi flour (if using), sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.
  2. Whisk buttermilk, orange juice, egg, and vegetable oil in a separate bowl.
  3. Pour the wet mixture into the dry mix bowl and stir until mixed.
  4. Heat a pan and pour a ladle full of batter and spread a bit. Let it cook and only flip after you see a few bubbles on the surface. Flip and cook until soft and fluffy. Serve hot with the fig drizzle on top. Repeat with the left-over batter.

DRIZZLE

  1. Add the figs, butter, honey, sugar, and a pinch of salt and pepper to a pan over medium heat and cook until the syrup begins to bubble and figs are soft and tender. Should not take more than a couple of minutes.
Leave a Reply

